Our history

Years of Journey

ECWA Theological Seminary, Kagoro is an institution under the proprietorship of the Evangelical Church Winning All (ECWA). ETSK was started by In 1930 the Sudan Interior Mission (SIM), now known as Serving In Mission, as a theological training institute, a non-commercial institute for the purpose of training man-power for the church. The school was first called Kagoro Bible School (KBS) . . . . In 1955 the school was upgraded to a Bible Training School (BTS) and renamed to Kagoro Bible Training Centre (KBTC) in 1958. By the year 1960, the school was called Kagoro Bible College (KBC).
Between 1930 -1976, the school was under the administration of the SIM Missionaries. The administration was handed over to ECWA in 1976 and the name of the institution became ECWA Bible College, Kagoro (EBCK) with Rev. Andrea Dogo as the first indigenous principal.
Over the years the school had visionary leaders that developed the place to a Theological College and Seminary in 1994 and 2000 respectively. The Seminary began offering degree programmes in 2001, Master degree programmes started in 2008 and Doctor of Philosophy degree programmes in 2019. The Seminary will continue to upgrade its curriculum as the needs of the church and society demand.
At present, the Seminary is affiliated to the Religious Studies Department, Faculty of Arts University of Jos, Nigeria. It is also an active member of the Network for African Congregational Theology, Global Network for Public Theology (GNPT), Association of Christian Theological Education in Africa (ACTEA) and Oversea Council International (OCI).

Library At present, the Seminary has a full range of facilities conducive for learning. Its library stocks nearly 30,000 volume of books aside other numerous electronic educational materials. The school has a working café, where ETSK faculty, staff and students can access the internet wirelessly on campus.

Faculty Members


Mrs. Deborah Bonat

Dean of Students Affairs

Mrs. Abigail A. Albert

Women's Institute Coordinator

Pastor Ibrahim Yako Handan

HOD Theological Studies Dept.

Rev. Dr. Nicodemus Pele Daniel

Chairman Committee of Deans

Dr. Hassan Musa

HOD Biblical Studies/Ph.D Director